Adults

Adult Events

  


Space-Themed Movie Nights

Grab the popcorn and join us for movies that are out of this world! As part of the Library’s “A Universe of Stories” Summer Reading Challenge, movie nights featuring space-themed movies will be held at the Library. The dates and movies are as follows:
  • Wednesday, May 8 – “Guardians of the Galaxy” (Rated PG-13)
  • Wednesday, June 5 – “Space Jam” (Rated PG)
  • Wednesday, July 3 – “A Wrinkle in Time” (Rated PG)

All movies will start at 7 p.m. and are free to attend. Registration is not required.

Space Movie Nights Summer 2019 Flyer

Elvis Tribute Concert

Visit the Library this summer and enjoy the music of the "King of Rock and Roll," Elvis Aaron Presley! On Saturday, June 29 at 2 p.m., Elvis Tribute Artist Jeff Mew will perform hits from the legendary musician and be available after the show for a meet and greet and pictures. Registration is not required. For more information, please call 972.874.6165 or email the Library.

Elvis Tribute Concert Flyer

Create a Macramé Wall Hanging

Make plans to stop by the Library on Monday, July 15 at either 1 p.m. or 7 p.m. to create a macramé wall hanging! Library staff will cover tips and tricks, and show how to make the knot patterns on your piece. This class is for ages 13 and above. Registration required; please call 972.874.6165 or email the Library to register.

Macramé Wall Hanging Flyer

HarpEssence Concert

Come explore music and motion when HarpEssence, an ensemble of four concert grand harps, performs at 7 p.m. at the Library on Wednesday, July 24. The interactive program will keep you moving with music from classical to modern ages. Attendees will learn about the harp, and even try playing one! Registration is not required to attend. For more information, please email the Library or call 972.874.6165.

HarpEssence Concert Flyer

Adult Programs 

2019-2020 Book Club Discussion Group


The Flower Mound Public Library welcomes you to join our book club discussion group for lively talk about the book of the month. For more information call 972.874.6165. Attend either Mondays at 7 p.m. or Thursdays at 9:30 a.m.

Printable 2019-2020 Book List Brochure
 
The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff (Author Skype)
  • Monday, August 12
  • Thursday, August 15
 
Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate
  • Monday, September 9
  • Thursday, September 12
 
The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson
  • Monday, October 14
  • Thursday, October 17

Becoming by Michelle Obama
  • Monday, November 11
  • Thursday, November 14

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
  • Monday, December 9
  • Thursday, December 12
The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
  • Monday, January 13
  • Thursday, January 16
 
If Beale Street Could Talk by James Baldwin
  • Monday, February 10
  • Thursday, February 13
 
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
  • Monday, March 9
  • Thursday, March 12
 
Educated by Tara Westover
  • Monday, April 13
  • Thursday, April 16
 
The Widows by Jess Montgomery (Author Skype)
  • Monday, May 11
  • Thursday, May 14



2018-2019 Theme Book Club

Join our new in-person, theme-based book club for adults! Participants will choose one book to read that corresponds with a set theme each month. This book club meets on the first Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. For more information, call 972.874.6165.



Printable 2018-2019 Themes

Printable Guide for May Meeting
 
November 1: Growing Up
December 6: Explore Other Cultures
January 3: Technology Gone Bad
February 7: Courage in the Face of Adversity
March 7: Texas Heritage and Culture
April 4: Let's Laugh About It: Humor in Everyday Life
May 2: The Journey of Life




Digital Book Club

Don't have time or book-loving friends to take part in a traditional book club? How about one online? Join the Flower Mound Public Library Digital Book Club, where members choose books based on set discussion themes. Anyone with a Goodreads account can join by logging in to Goodreads then clicking “Join Group” on the group home page. For additional information, call 972.874.6165 or email the Library.




Gaming Unplugged

 
Join fellow gamers for an afternoon of chess, table-top games, and role-playing games on the second Sunday of the month from 1:30-4:30 p.m. Games will be provided, or you may bring your own. All ages welcome.
2019 dates:
January 13, February 10, March 10, April 7, May 12, June 9, July 7, September 8, October 13, November 10 and December 8.