Adults

Adult Programs 


Let's Talk College

Do you know what it really takes to get into college? On Tuesday, September 15 and Tuesday, October 6 at 7 p.m., Erika Dietz of Guru Academic Advising will discuss college planning via Zoom. This presentation will go beyond the basics and teach students and families what they can do to make their college applications stand out from the pack. Students and parents will leave with information that will empower them to tackle the process of getting into college with less stress and better results. 


This is a digital presentation via Zoom. For instructions on how to join, please email Morgan Norman.




The Road Ahead: Investing in Uncertain Times
Unsure about a new investment strategy? On Tuesday, October 13 at 7 p.m., Luke Trammell, Senior Vice President at American Funds, will demonstrate the impact of major historic events on investor returns via Zoom. Attendees will gain valuable information to help them navigate investing during times of uncertainty. This virtual program is part of the Library's Financial Planning Series, sponsored by Frank Rattan, Jr., CRPC®, Financial Advisor for Edward Jones. For instructions on joining the zoom meeting, please email Morgan Norman.

The Road Ahead: Investing in Uncertain Times 2020 Flyer


2020-2021 Book Club Discussion Group


The Flower Mound Public Library welcomes you to join our book club discussion group for lively talk about the book of the month. Meetings for the remainder of 2020 will be held digitally via Zoom. For more information, email Lynne Craddock or call 972.874.6165.

Printable 2020-2021 Book List Brochure
 
Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
via Zoom
  • Monday, August 10 at 7 p.m.
 
The Island of Sea Women by Lisa See (Author Talk)
via Zoom
  • Monday, September 14 at 7 p.m.
 
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
via Zoom
  • Monday, October 12 at 7 p.m.

Home for Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler
via Zoom
  • Monday, November 9 at 7 p.m.

The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead
via Zoom
  • Monday, December 14 at 7 p.m.
The Book of Lost Friends by Lisa Wingate
  • Monday, January 11 at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, January 14 at 9:30 a.m.
 
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  • Monday, February 8 at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, February 11 at 9:30 a.m.

When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi
  • Monday, March 8 at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 11 at 9:30 a.m.
 
Hidden Valley Road by Robert Kolker
  • Monday, April 12 at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 15 at 9:30 a.m.
 
American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins
  • Monday, May 10 at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 13 at 9:30 a.m.


Gaming Unplugged

 
Join fellow gamers for an afternoon of chess, table-top games, and role-playing games on the second Sunday of the month from 1:30-4:30 p.m. Games will be provided, or you may bring your own. All ages welcome.
2020 dates: All 2020 dates have been canceled. This program is tentatively scheduled to resume in 2021.