Adults

Adult Programs 

Water Wise Sprinklers
On Tuesday, August 10 and Tuesday, August 31 at 7 p.m., Blake Alldredge of the Upper Trinity Regional Water District will offer the class "Water Wise Sprinklers." Outdoor irrigation accounts for 50-70% of water use during the summer, much of which is wasted due to broken or worn-out equipment and wasteful watering practices. Join us to learn how to check your sprinklers and how to make easy fixes, as well as the basics of setting sprinkler controllers and the best irrigation practices to ensure you're watering effectively and not wasting. Choose to attend either the August 10 or August 31 session. Registration is required. To register for this in-person program, please email the Library or call 972.874.6165.

Water Wise Sprinklers Flyer


Create Your Own Origami Box
Join us on Monday, August 16 at 7 p.m. as craft teacher Sharon Oels Martyn and Library staff demonstrate how to make an origami box using patterned paper and embellishments. This in-person class is for ages 13 and older, and registration is required. To register, please email the Library or call 972.874.6165.

Create Your Own Origami Box Flyer


2021-2022 Book Club Discussion Group

The Flower Mound Public Library welcomes you to join our book club discussion group for lively talk about the book of the month. Monday evening meetings will be held in person and Thursday morning meetings will be held via Zoom until further notice. For more information, email Lynne Craddock or call 972.874.6165.

Printable 2021-2022 Book List Brochure
 
Anxious People by Fredrik Backman
  • Monday, August 9 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, August 12 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
The Storyteller's Secret by Sejal Badani
  • Monday, September 13 at 7 p.m. (In Person, Author Zoom Visit)
  • Thursday, September 16 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
Caste by Isabel Wilkerson
  • Monday, October 11 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, October 14 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig
  • Monday, November 8 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, November 11 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett
  • Monday, December 13 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, December 16 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
Finding Chika by Mitch Albom
  • Monday, January 10 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, January 13 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

The Four Winds
by Kristin Hannah
  • Monday, February 14 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, February 17 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)

Silent Spring
by Rachel Carson
  • Monday, March 14 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, March 17 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
The Prayer Box by Lisa Wingate
  • Monday, April 11 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, April 14 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)
 
Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey
  • Monday, May 9 at 7 p.m. (In Person)
  • Thursday, May 12 at 9:30 a.m. (via Zoom)


Gaming Unplugged

 
Join fellow gamers for an afternoon of chess, table-top games, and role-playing games on the second Sunday of the month from 1:30-4:30 p.m. Games will be provided, or you may bring your own. All ages welcome.

2020 dates: All 2020 dates have been canceled. This program is tentatively scheduled to resume in 2021.