Police Officer/Recruit Requirements

To become an Police Officer or Police Officer Recruit, you must: 

  • Must be a U.S. citizen
  • Be at least 21 years of age at the time of application
  • Have a valid state issued driver’s license (must obtain a Texas driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residency if hired from out of state)
  • Possess a high school diploma or GED
  • Be able to distinguish between red, green, and yellow 
  • Meet all physical requirements and be free from disease or physical/mental defects that would prevent you from performing the essential duties of a police officer
  • Be able to pass all steps of the hiring process and meet all other Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) minimum requirements
  • TCOLE basic peace officer certification with 1 year post academy experience to include successfully completing a field training program with a law enforcement agency 
  • In lieu of a TCOLE certification, the applicant must have at least: 
    • 45 college credit hours with a 2.0 grade point average or higher on a 4.0 scale, or 
    • Minimum two years in the United States Armed Forces with either an Honorable Discharge or an active member of the United States Military Reserve; or
    • Minimum of two years of honorable service as a Flower Mound Police Department Detention Officer.
  • No convictions involving family violence 
  • No convictions of a Class A misdemeanor or above under the Texas Penal Code or any comparable state or federal law, to include the Uniform Code of Military Justice 
  • No convictions of a Class B misdemeanor under the Texas Penal Code or any comparable state or federal law, to include the Uniform Code of Military Justice within the past 10 years
  • No convictions of a Class C misdemeanor or comparable law within the last five years (excluding traffic violations) 
  • No criminal charges pending or under indictment for any criminal offense 
  • No more than three chargeable accidents within the last three years, or any combination of chargeable accidents and moving violations which equal four or more in the last three years 
  • Not on probation for any criminal offense
  • No excessive marijuana use and no marijuana use in the past two years
  •  No illegal drug use within the last five years; other drug use will be considered on a case by case basis