Adults

Adult Events

      

Financial Planning Series


Learn about how to plan financially for your future during this free lecture series presented by Frank Rattan, Jr., a financial advisor with Edward Jones.
Tuesday, August 23 - Protection: Long Term Care with special guest Jane Forbes from Pacific Life
Tuesday, September 13 - Invest in Yourself: A Financial Workshop for Women with special guest Janelle Howell, Regional     Vice President for Hancock Investments
Tuesday, October 11 - Retirement: Making Your Money Last
Tuesday, November 8 - Rules of the Road Investing
Tuesday, December 6 - College: Getting There from Here
 
All sessions will start at 7:00 p.m. To register, please email fmpl@flower-mound.com or call 972-874-6165.

Financial Planning Series Flyer 
     

NoveList Plus Demo


Join us for a demonstration of the reading recommendations database NoveList Plus. This online tool, free to Flower Mound Public Library cardholders, is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendation, reviews, articles, and lists as well as discussion guides useful for book clubs. Library staff will demonstrate key features of this resource and how to use it to find your next great read. Choose to attend one of the following demo times: November 14 at 1:00 p.m.; November 15 at 7:00 p.m.; December 1 at 2:00 p.m.; or December 7 at 7:00 p.m. To register, please email fmpl@flower-mound.com or call 972-874-6165. 

NoveList Plus Demo Flyer 
    

How to Find the Right Colleges for You


On Tuesday, January 31 at 7:00 p.m., Chris Blackwell, Director of Collegewise - DFW, will present "How to Find the Right Colleges for You." Learn ways to recognize what types of colleges might be a good fit and how to evaluate the many factors that need to be considered. Also, learn how to make the most of college visits. To register, please email fmpl@flower-mound.com or call 972-874-6165.

Find the Right Colleges for You Flyer

             

Adult Programs 

2016-2017 Book Club Discussion Group


The Flower Mound Public Library welcomes you to join our book club discussion group for lively talk about the book of the month. For more information call 972-874-6165. Attend either Mondays at 7 p.m. or Thursdays at 9:30 a.m.
 
Printable 2016-2017 Book List Brochure   
 
A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
  • Monday, August 8
  • Thursday, August 11
 
 The Art of Hearing Heartbeats by Jan-Philipp-Sendker
  • Monday, September 12
  • Thursday, September 15
 
 The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
  • Monday, October 10
  • Thursday, October 13

The Moon in the Palace by Weina Dai Randel 
  • Monday, November 14
  • Thursday, November 17

The Wright Brothers by David McCullough 
  • Monday, December 12
  • Thursday, December 15
Me Before You by JoJo Moyes 
  • Monday, January 9
  • Thursday, January 12
 
 The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens 
  • Monday, February 13
  • Thursday, February 16
 
 The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah 
  • Monday, March 13
  • Thursday, March 16
 
 Glory Over Everything by Kathleen Grissom 
  • Monday, April 10
  • Thursday, April 13
 
 Clementine: the Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill 
  by Sonia Purnell 
  • Monday, May 8
  • Thursday, May 11
 

Gaming Unplugged

 
Join fellow gamers for an afternoon of chess, table-top games, and role-playing games on the second Sunday of the month from 2:00-4:00 p.m. Games will be provided, or you may bring your own. All ages welcome.
2016 dates: December 11.